Home » Administration


     Hazaribag town is the district headquarter of Hazaribag district. The office of the Deputy Commissioner is located in Hazaribag town. Deputy Commissioner is the head of the District Administration and is Ex-Officio Chairman of various Societies/Agencies that are involved in the development of the district. Various Societies and Governmental Agencies that are in the direct control of the Deputy Commissioner are DRDA, Centrally Sponsored Social sector, Welfare schemes etc.

     The Deputy Development Commissioner is the ex-officio Managing Director of D.R.D.A. as well as Chief Executive officer. Deputy Development Commissioner is also the District Programme Coordinator under MGNREGA There are sixteen blocks in the district. At the block level, Block Development officers are involved in development works of the respective blocks, there are supervisory level officials & Panchayat Sevaks and Jansewaks at the panchayat level. 

          Besides the Agencies that have been referred above, there are various line departments that also plan, implement, supervise and monitor the schemes as per instruction of their respective departments.

                                            All these departments though work under their respective controlling officer of the department, but they are under indirect control of Deputy Commissioner.

          There is a 20-point Programme Implementation Committee at the district level under the Chairmanship of Minister of state of Govt., who is nominated by the State Govt. Deputy Commissioner is ex-officio Secretary of the committee. This Committee supervises and monitors implementation of the schemes of line departments.